Get CollegeDekho
Mobile App
 Live Help
Courses & Exams
News & Articles

JEE- Advanced (Architecture Aptitude Test) Eligibility

Educational Qualification:
Candidates desirous of joining the B. Arch. (Architecture) courses will have to PASS in the Architecture Aptitude Test (AAT). Only those candidates who have secured an all India / category rank in JEE (Advanced) are eligible to appear for AAT (Architecture Aptitude Test) in.

  • AAT will be conducted only at the seven zonal coordinating IITs.
  • JEE Advanced qualifiers can appear for AAT to get admission to B. Arch courses.
  • Only candidates who opted for B. Arch program at either IIT Roorkee or IIT Kharagpur as their preference while filling the online application can sit for AAT.
  • Only the students who registered for AAT can take the entrance test.


There shall be no weight age for the 12th class marks in calculating the ranks in the JEE (Main) examination,
For the candidates to qualify for the admission in the IITs/NITs/IIITs and such other CFTIs whose admissions are based on the JEE (Advanced)/JEE(Main) ranks, they should have secured at least 75% marks in the 12th class examination, or be in the top 20 percentile in the 12th class examination conducted by the respective Boards. For SC/ST students the qualifying marks would be 65% in the 12th class examination.

All the candidates must fulfill each and every one of the following five criteria to appear in JEE (Advanced).

Criterion 1 – Performance in JEE (Main): Candidates should be among the top 2,20,000 (including all categories) by scoring positive marks in Paper-1 of JEE (Main) 2017.

The percentages of various categories are: 27% for OBC-NCL, 15% for SC, 7.5% for  ST and the remaining 50.5% is OPEN for all. Within each of these four categories, 3% horizontal reservation is available for PWD (including Dyslexic) candidates. As shown in the following table, the usual order will be followed while choosing top 2,20,000 candidates in various categories who have scored positive marks in JEE (Main).

Criterion 2 Age limit: Candidates should have been born on or after October 1, 1992. Five years relaxation is given to SC, ST and PwD candidates, i.e., these candidates should have been born on or after October 1, 1987.

Criterion 3 – Number of attempts: A candidate can attempt JEE (Advanced) a maximum of two times in consecutive years. Therefore, candidates who appeared in JEE (Advanced) 2016 for the first time are also eligible.

Criterion 4 – Appearance in Class XII (or equivalent) examination: A candidate should have appeared for the Class XII (or equivalent) examination for the first time in either 2016 or 2017. However, candidates whose Class XII (or equivalent) examination Board results for the academic year 2014-15 were declared after June 2015 are eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced) 2017.

Criterion 5 – Earlier admission at IITs: A candidate should NOT have been admitted in an IIT irrespective of whether or not he/she continued in the program) OR accepted the IIT seat by reporting at a reporting center in the past. The candidates whose admission at IITs was canceled are also NOT eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced).

Candidates who have been admitted to a preparatory course in any of the IITs for the first time in 2016 can appear in JEE (Advanced) 2017. The candidates who have paid seat acceptance fee but not accepted the seat (by not reporting at any reporting center during joint seat allocation in 2016) are eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced) 2017.

The minimum academic qualification for appearing in JEE (Advanced) -2017 is that the candidate must have passed in final examination of Class 12th  or equivalent qualifying examination.Those appearing in these examinations in 2017can also appear in JEE (Advanced)- 2017 provisionally.
All the candidates aspiring to take admission in the undergraduate programs at IITs and ISM Dhanbad for the year 2017 will have to appear in the Paper 1 (B. E./B. Tech.) of JEE (Main)-2017. Based on the performance in Paper 1 (B. E./B. Tech.) of JEE (Main)-2017, top 220000 candidates (including all categories) will be eligible to appear in JEE(Advanced)-2017.
Admissions to IITs/ISM Dhanbad will be based only on category-wise All India Rank (AIR) in JEE (Advanced), subject to conditions as defined in JEE (Advanced) – 2017 website.
A candidate can attempt JEE (Advanced) a maximum of two times in consecutive years irrespective of whether or not he/she passed the Qualifying Examination. The candidates, who have attempted IIT-JEE/JEE (Advanced) in 2015 or earlier, are NOT ELIGIBLE to appear in JEE(Advanced)–2017.
The candidate who had taken admission in any institute other than IITs & ISM Dhanbad in 2016 is eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced) – 2017 provided that the candidate satisfies other eligibility criteria.

H.S.C. vocational examination. [Only for Admission to IITs]
A Diploma recognized by AICTE or a state board of technical education of at least 3-year duration. [Only for Admission to IITs]
General Certificate Education (GCE) examination (London/Cambridge/Sri Lanka) at the Advanced (A) level. [Only for Admission to IITs]
High School Certificate Examination of the Cambridge University or International Baccalaureate Diploma of the International Baccalaureate Office, Geneva. [Only for Admission to IITs]

Application Fees Rs. 2000
Payment URL