Admission open in Synergy School of Business for session 2020

Tezpur University Bags Best Central Varsity Award

Published: | February 28, 2016
Tezpur University Bags Best Central Varsity Award
Tezpur University has been awarded the prestigious ‘Best Central University Award’ by the Union Human Resource Development Ministry.

Tezpur University has been awarded the prestigious ‘Best Central University Award’ by the Union Human Resource Development Ministry.

The award will be officially presented on March 14, 2016 by President Pranab Mukherjee, Dr. Rajib Kumar Doley, Director, Inclusive Development, Tejpur University said. Dr. Doley, in a telephonic conversation, told a correspondent that as stated by the HRD Ministry, Tejpur University from among the frontline central universities in India, has been able to achieve the honour, reflecting the dignity of Tejpur as well as the sacrifices of the martyrs of the six-year-long Assam Agitation, as a fruition of which it came into being.

Honourable Chief Minister of Assam, Tarun Gogoi in a statement, said he was doubly happy that Tezpur University bagged the prestigious award as he had been instrumental in persuading the then Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi for two Central universities in the state — one at Tezpur and the other at Silchar.

“It is rare to find two Central Varsities in any state. I am grateful to Rajivji for listening to my plea for two Central Varsities in Assam,” Mr Gogoi added.

He extended his heartiest congratulations to Vice-Chancellor Mihir Kanti Chaudhuri, the teaching and non-teaching staff and the students, past and present, for the honour.

Tezpur University was established by an Act of Parliament in 1994. The objects of this Central University as envisaged in the statutes are that it shall strive to offer employment oriented and interdisciplinary courses to meet the local and regional aspirations and the development needs of the state of Assam and also offer courses and promote research in areas which are of special and direct relevance to the region and in emerging areas in Science and Technology. Tejpur University, the first university in India to offer the Master of Technology in Computational Seismology course, is also one of the few universities in the country to have its own department of Energy to its credit.

The Department of Electronics is the first of its kind in India to introduce an interdisciplinary Master of Technology programme in Bioelectronics. The University has four schools of studies, divided into 21 departments and three special academic centres, including the school of sciences, School of Humanities & Social Sciences, School of Management Sciences, School of Engineering and School of Science. The School of Sciences is divided into five departments which offer post graduate degrees in Science and carry on research in Science and Mathematics.

The university has a state-of-the-art infrastructure with world class hostel facilities for men and women. Every facility that a central university is ought to provide its students are given at Tejpur University. Students from across the country study in this central university coming up with flying colours every academic year.

Source: Darshana Brahma, City Journalist-Guwahati, CollegeDekho

Admission Updates for 2020

Related News

Get Help From Our Expert Counsellors

Admission Updates for 2020

Subscribe to CollegeDekho News

By proceeding ahead you expressly agree to the CollegeDekho terms of use and privacy policy
Apply Now