Get CollegeDekho
Mobile App
 Live Help
Courses & Exams
News & Articles
Before     On or after

Heritage Institute of Technology Conducted First Heritage Parliamentary Debate

June 04, 2016 11:05 PM 2 minute read , Engineering , Heritage Institute of Technology (Kolkata) , West Bengal University of Technology

Heritage Institute of Technology Conducted First Heritage Parliamentary Debate

Heritage Institute of Technology conducted the first Heritage Parliamentary Debate, bringing together a blend of some of the city’s finest debaters along with enthusiastic debutants, and everything in between.

Institutes with a penchant for logical argumentation around the city have for some time been committed to the development of a proper Kolkata Debating Circuit, and the success thus far in its growth has been noteworthy. One of the instruments of promoting healthy debating was this initiative by the Quiz and Debate Club of Heritage Institute of Technology.

Core adjudicators for the Heritage PD were Arindrajit Basu (NUJS), Ira Chadha-Sridhar(NUJS) and Anuvab Bandopadhyay (Heritage) – three of the finest debaters and adjudicators in the city. Assisting them were the Presidency duo of Sargam Sharma and Saurya Sengupta. A host of students from colleges like Presidency College, West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences (NUJS), St. Xavier’s College, IIT Kharagpur and of course the organizing college itself, participated as debaters and adjudicators.

For a lot of the first-time debaters, the demo debate on “This house being a Western liberal democracy, will make aid to developing countries contingent upon these countries repealing their anti-sodomy laws” held significant relevance in understanding speaker roles, case building and just generally setting a standard of argumentation.

The final debate was undoubtedly of very high quality, and so close that no unanimous decision could be achieved. The verdict was split 6-3 in favor of the Opposition by the 9 member adjudication panel. Suchicubhra Sarkar, Adithya Iyer and Arka Banerjee Chowdhury took home the Heritage Parliamentary Debate winners’ trophy. Srijeet Bhattacharjee,a former student of Presidency College, took home the prize for the best adjudicator, bringing the memorable tournament to an end.

Source: Soutrik Das, City Journalist-Kolkata, CollegeDekho

Heritage Institute of Technology Conducted First Heritage Parliamentary Debate | CollegeDekho