ISRO Chairman K.Sivan Attends IIT Bhubaneswar's 8th Convocation

Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Bhubaneswar held its 8th convocation ceremony on September 21 and Indian Space Research Organisation Chairman Dr K Sivan was the Chief Guest for the event.

IIT Bhubaneswar Convocation

Indian Institute of Technology, Bhubaneswar organised its 8th Convocation Ceremony on 21st September 2019 and Indian Space Research Organisation Chairman Dr. K Sivan was the Chief Guest for the occasion. The event took place in the Community Centre, Argul Campus, IIT Bhubaneswar. This is for the very first time that Sivan was in the Odisha capital after the launch of the Chadrayaan 2 mission to the moon.

Highlights of IIT Bhubaneswar Convocation 2019

The institute awarded degrees to:

  • 32 PhD scholars
  • 105 M.Tech students
  • 67 M.Sc students
  • 152 B.Tech students
  • President of India Gold Medal was awarded to Shrohan Mohapatra from the computer science and engineering department for best academic performance among the outgoing batch of B.Tech
  • DIrector's Gold Medal was awarded to Rahul Das from the school of infrastructure for best academic performance among the outgoing batch of M.Tech and also to Anubhav Nath (Chemistry)
  • Silver Medals awarded for the best academic performance in the respective schools to meritorious students of B.Tech, M.Sc and M.Tech

Also Read: IIT KGP Researchers Generate Electricity from Wet Clothes!

Many eminent personalities graced the event with their presence. The convocation also saw a large number of alumni members as a part of the occasion. A cultural programme was also organised for the students at the end of the ceremony.

Also Read: QS GraduateEmployability Scale: IIT Bombay, Delhi, Madras & DU Rank in World’s Top 200

Meanwhile, IIT Bhubaneswar has recorded 95% placements in the 2018-19 academic year. Both the students and the faculty are happy about the placement record. IIT Bhubaneswar has 295 PhD scholars, 1838 students and 137 full-time faculty members. The institute has 7 academic schools at the permanent campus at Argul in Khordha district of Bhubaneswar.

Get Help From Our Expert Counsellors


Be the First to Know

Get Access to Latest Updates

Related Questions

What is the average package of Electrical Engineering students at Kharagpur IIT?

-SunkaraSriharikaUpdated on October 14, 2020 11:14 AM
  • 1 Answer
Diksha Sharma, Student / Alumni

Dear Student,

The average package for Electrical Engineering at IIT, Kharagpur is 15.25 LPA and 12 LPA for dual degree students. Around 60% of the students from Electrical Engineering were placed in the last year. Some of the companies that visited the IIT Kharagpur for Electrical Engineering placements are Wipro, PepsiCo, Amazon, Microsoft, Yahoo, Adani Group, BPCL, etc.

To learn more about IIT Kharagpur EE placements, you can also check IIT Kharagpur Placements.

You can also fill the Common Application Form on our website for admission-related assistance. You can also reach us through our IVRS Number - 1800-572-9877.


What is the age limit for admission to B.Tech at IIT Kharagpur?

-Vipul KumarUpdated on August 06, 2020 09:29 PM
  • 1 Answer
Diksha Sharma, Student / Alumni

Dear Student,

The maximum age limit to apply for admission to B.Tech program at IIT Kharagpur is 25 years (30 years for SC/ST) at the time of application.

If you are confused about the right B.Tech specialisations to choose, check How to Choose a Right Specialization/Branch in B.Tech after Class 12th?

To learn about the admission process, eligibility, selection process, and fees for B.Tech, also read Engineering (BE/ B.Tech) Admission Process 2020.

If you are looking to take direct admission to B.Tech and have no score in any entrance exam, you can ...


Do you have a question? Ask us.

  • Typical response between 24-48 hours

  • Get personalized response

  • Free of Cost

  • Access to community

Subscribe to CollegeDekho News

By proceeding ahead you expressly agree to the CollegeDekho terms of use and privacy policy
Apply Now

Top 10 Engineering Colleges in India

View All

Join us and get exclusive education updates & notifications.