Get CollegeDekho
Mobile App
 Live Help
Courses & Exams
News & Articles
Before     On or after

7 NIT Directors Appointed by HRD Ministry

7 NIT Directors Appointed by HRD Ministry

The HRD Ministry has announced the appointment of new directors at seven National Institutes of Technology (NITs) on Tuesday, October 5, 2016.

Also Read: Collaborative Initiative started by 2 IITs for Better Cancer Treatment

Following are the seven NITs that got new directors:

Name of the Institute Name of the Director
Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology (MNNIT), Allahabad Rajeev Tripathi
Malaviya National Institute of Technology (MNIT), Jaipur Uday Kumar
Dr. B. R. Ambedkar National Institute of Technology, Jalandhar Lalit Kumar Awasthi
National Institute of Technology (NIT), Tiruchirappalli Mini Shaji Thomas
National Institute of Technology (NIT), Kurukshetra Satish Kumar
National Institute of Technology (NIT), Rourkela Animesh Biswas
Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology (SVNIT), Surat S.R. Gandhi

Not very long ago, HRD Ministry was struggling to fill the vacant seats in various NITs and IITs. Even though more than 1500 undergraduate engineering seats were vacant in various NITs across the country, MHRD was not prepared to conduct spot counseling rounds to fill up the seats.

As a result of this, many deserving students who could have taken admissions to these colleges were denied the opportunity and will probably have to give up a year in order to take admission in 2016.

Also Read: 'Udaan' Scheme by CBSE to Help Girls Take Admission in IITs and NITs

However, HRD Minister, Prakash Javadekar reassured the students and parents that all the vacant seats will be filled.

Read to dream because dreams make life interesting. Read, to see the marvels of the world without moving your feet. Above all read to empower your mind, as that’s what makes you whole!

7 NIT Directors Appointed by HRD Ministry | CollegeDekho