Nistarini Women's College (NWC) Purulia

Purulia (West Bengal)   Estd : 1957 Approved by : NAAC, AICTE Type : Private


Nistarini Women's College is situated in Purulia in West Bengal state of India. Established in 1957, it is accredited from NAAC, AICTE and it is affiliated to Sidho Kanho Birsha University. NWC, Purulia offers 20 courses across 5 streams namely Arts, Performing Arts, Science, Education, Paramedical and across 2 degrees like BA, BSc.Hostel facility is not available for its students. Additional campus facilities such as Math Lab, Boys Hostel, Canteen, Comp. Lab, Girls Hostel, Lib, Medical Fac., Cls. Room, Music, Placement are also there.

Top Courses & Fees View All



  • Stipend, Scholarship And Awards

    A large number of students belonging to S.C., S.T. & P.W.D. categories are awarded stipends and scholarships by the Government as per norm. A good number of general students are awarded D.P.I. scholarships on the basis of their performance in the last public Examinations. Students Aid Fund also comes to the aid of the needy students. “Gita Ray Educational Trust Fund” founded by Mr. Milan Ray provides scholarships to the meritorious and needy students of the college from Purulia District (two of each year) in under-graduate as well as Post Graduate level. Dr. Robert Meagher and Ms. Elizabeth Neave, USA, also provide full scholarships to needy students every year – one specifically to an ST student. Meritorious students of this college belonging to the economically backward families may enjoy Full free or Half free studentship. 10% of the students may be considered for this facility. However, students with low attendance or unsuccessful students will not be eligible for this facility.

    Apart from these, Sri Suman Kr. Das has donated Rs. 30,000/- in the name of his father Sri Saibal Das, for the development of the college and welfare of the students.

View Details

Awards and Rankings

Awards & Sponsored Funds





1. Snehalata Bhattacharya Prize Prof. Binayak Bhattacharya in memory of his mother. Those attaining highest marks in Philosophy Hons., English Hons. and Sanskrit Hons. in the University exams.
2. Annapurna Banerjee Prize Sri Nirmalendu Banerjee in memory of his mother. Those attaining highest marks in Bengali and Maths Hons. and in Sanskrit (Pass) in the Univ. exams.
3. Dr. Anadibhusan Roy Prize Smt. Aparna Ray, in memory of her husband. The three best NSS workers every year.
4. Indrani Sinha Roy Prize Sri Sudip Sinha Roy, in memory of his mother. Those attaining highest marks in the Biological Sciences.

Swami Vivekanand Chicago address Memorial Prize


Dr. Kiriti Bhusan Sinha Those attaining 1st, 2nd and 3rd position in the cultural competitions.
6. The Search for Excellence Prize Dr. Kiriti Bhusan Sinha, in memory of his father, Sri Madhab Ch. Singha Those attaining highest marks in  Maths Hons. and Pass in the Univ. exams.
7. Jagattarini Trust Sri Prabir Banerjee Those attaining highest marks in each of the Hons. subjects in Arts stream.
8. Mira Devi Memorial Prize Sri S. Guha in memory of his wife. Those attaining highest marks in Philosophy (Hons.) in the Univ. exams.
9. Shanta Memorial Prize Prof. Juthika Chatterjee Those attaining 1st, 2nd & 3rd positions in the Annual Dance Competitons.
10. Kironbala Devi Memorial Prize Sri Sachindranath Misra Those attaining highest marks in Music Pass in the Univ. exams.


Contact Details of Nistarini Women's College, Purulia

  • Contact No:
  • Email ID:
  • Website:
  • Address:
    Deshbandhu Road, Purulia – 723101, West Bengal.