University of Calcutta, Kolkata

Location: Kolkata, West Bengal |Estd: 1857

About University

The University of Calcutta also known as Calcutta University and CU. Calcutta University is situated in the city of Kolkata (earlier known as Calcutta), West Bengal. The University of Calcutta was established on January 24, 1857. The University of Calcutta is accredited by University Grants Commission (UGC) and National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC). Calcutta University has 14 campuses, which are spread in the city of Kolkata. The University of Calcutta is ranked 16 in NIRF ranking which is issued by MHRD (Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India).

University of Calcutta - Admission process

For Undergraduate Programmes, CU offers admission in Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech), for which a student has to clear the cutoff score of WBJEE by a good margin. For admission to BA, B.Sc & B.Com programs is based on marks in the qualifying degree while admission to B.Li.Sc, Integrated B.Li.Sc and BA-LL.B programs is based on Admission Test conducted by the university.

For PG courses like M.Tech, M.Ed, M.Sc  the admissions can be either Merit Based or through the university interview. In such a case the candidate has to give the university entrance exam followed by an interview at its College Street Campus. Though for some specialization a valid GATE score is required. Also for M.Tech in Pharmaceuticals & Fine Chemical Technology, a good GPAT score will be considered.   

For candidates applying in M.Phil & Ph.D, the score in Research Entrance Test (RET) is considered followed by an Interview.

Latest News