CTET Syllabus 2019

Deepika Narwal Updated On: 06 Mar, 2019 09:33 IST

Never Miss an exam update

Get Central Teacher Eligibility Test Papers For Free

CTET 2019 Syllabus

Candidates appearing for the Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET) that is scheduled to be held on 7th July 2019 should have complete knowledge and understanding of the CTET 2019 syllabus and CTET 2019 exam pattern. Candidates should note that CTET consists of two papers - Paper I and Paper II and the questions in the entrance exam are based on the important subjects and topics prescribed in the syllabus of CTET. The syllabus of CTET 2019 for Paper I and Paper II includes subjects like Child Development & Pedagogy, Language- I and Language – II, Mathematics, Environmental Studies, Science and Social Studies/Social Sciences. With the help of CTET syllabus 2019, candidates preparing for the entrance exam will exactly know what should be prepared to ace the entrance examination. 

CTET is conducted by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) in offline mode and through this exam, meritorious candidates can get teaching jobs in various central and state government schools. Paper I is conducted for the aspirants who wish to teach students of Class 1 to 5, whereas Paper II can be taken by the candidates willing to teach Class 6 to 8. Questions in the CTET 2019 will be asked in both Hindi and English language and negative marking is not applicable in the entrance exam. It is also advisable to the candidates preparing for the entrance exam to also refer to the NCERT textbooks apart from the syllabus of CTET 2019. 

Paper I (For Classes I to V) Primary Stage:

I. Child Development and Pedagogy

IV. Mathematics

II. Language – I

V. Environmental Studies

III. Language – II


Paper II (For Classes VI to VIII) Elementary Stage:

I. Child Development and Pedagogy

IV. Mathematics and Science

II. Language – I

V. Social Studies/Social Sciences

III. Language – II


Download the Complete Syllabus of CTET 2019 here!

FAQs on CTET Syllabus

1. I want to teach Primary classes (I to V), which paper should I appear for?

Candidates willing to teach at Primary level (classes I to V) will have to appear for Paper 1.

2. How many Papers are there in the Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET)?

CTET consist of two papers, Paper I: For Class I to V and Paper II: For Class VI to VIII. If a candidate intends to teach classes from I-VIII, he/she has to appear in both Paper I and Paper II.

3. What are the topics that are included in Paper II (Elementary Stage)?

Paper II includes topics such as Child Development and Pedagogy (compulsory), Language – I (compulsory), Language – II (compulsory), Mathematics and Science, Social Studies/Social Sciences.

4. What is the validity period of CTET certificate?

CTET certificate has the validity period of seven years from the date of declaration of its result. This is applicable for all the categories. 

Others Colleges in India

Subscribe Now
Experts image

Want to learn more about college options and to secure an admission now!

CollegeDekho's expert counsellors can help you with all your doubts

Never miss an update on CTET!! Register Now!

CollegeDekho expert counsellors can help you with all your doubts

Register Now