Become Job Ready with CollegeDekho Assured Program
Learn More

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2022 – Question Paper, Marking

Updated By Priyanka on 26 Jul, 2022 16:03

Get SSC CGL Sample Papers For Free

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2022

The Staff Selection Commission of India will hold the SSC CGL 2022 Exam in four stages, including Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3, and Tier 4. Exams for Tiers I and II will be given online, however Tiers III and IV will use pen and paper and a computer skill test, respectively. Let's look at the exam format for each of these SC CGL 2021–22 recruitment stages individually.

Candidates should be aware that if the SSC CGL Tier-I and Tier-II Exam is administered in various shifts, the scores will be normalised. The SSC will determine the normalisation score, which will be taken as the final criterion for choosing candidates for the Tier III and Tier IV rounds of the SSC CGL 2022 Exam. 

The notification states the following:

Tier 1: Objective Type – Computer Based Examination (CBT)
Tier 2: Objective Type – Computer Based Examination (CBT)
Tier 3: Written Examination (Descriptive Type)
Tier 4: Computer Test / Skill Test (wherever applicable)

The first thing a candidate needs to do is learn the format of the test. The SSC CGL examination format will assist candidates in strategically arranging their preparation. Candidates frequently feel lost since they are unaware of the examination formats. The plan should adapt when the examination format does as well.

SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam Pattern

The SSC CGL 2022 Tier-1 test will be delivered online and consist of 4 sections with a total of roughly 100 questions and a maximum of 200 marks. A total of 60 minutes must be allotted for finishing the exam.

  • Each question will be of 2 marks.

  • There will be negative marking of 0.50 marks for every wrong answer.

  • Candidates can choose their medium of writing their exam as Hindi or English.

The SSC CGL Tier-I Exam includes the following sections:

  1. General Intelligence & Reasoning
  2. General Awareness
  3. Quantitative Aptitude
  4. English Comprehension

General Awareness



English Comprehension



General Intelligence & Reasoning



Quantitative Aptitude



Colleges Accepting Exam SSC CGL :

SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam Pattern

A total of four papers—Quantitative Ability, Statistics, General Studies (Finance and Economics), and English Language and Comprehension—and a maximum score of 200 will make up the SSC CGL Tier-2 test, which will be administered online.

  • Tier II will be conducted in online mode, and it will have Objective type of questions.

  • Candidates can choose their medium of writing the paper as Hindi or English.

  • There will be negative marking of 0.25 marks in Paper-II and 0.50 marks in Paper-I, Paper-III and Paper-IV for each wrong response.

  • Paper-I and II are compulsory to attempt for all the categories of posts, whereas Paper-III is only for those who apply for the post of Statistical Investigator Gr. II and Compiler, and Paper IV is only for those who apply for the post of Assistant Audit Officer. 

PaperSubjectsQuestionsMaximum Marks


Quantitative Ability




English Language & Comprehension








General Studies (Finance and Economics)



SSC CGL Tier 3 Exam Pattern

A descriptive test will be part of SSC CGL Tier 3. The 100-point exam will be given in either English or Hindi. You have 60 minutes to finish the entire paper.

  • Tier III will be conducted in offline mode.
  • Descriptive types of questions will be asked in Tier III that will assess the writing skills of the candidates.

  • The total duration of Tier III will be for one hour.

  • The qualifying marks in Tier III will be 33 per cent.

  • Candidates can choose their medium of writing the exam as Hindi or English.

Mode of ExamScheme of ExamMarks

Pen and Paper

Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi (writing of Essay /Precis /Letter/Application Writing etc.


SSC CGL Tier IV Exam Pattern

For each post, a different SSC CGL Tier 4 exam format is used. Different student skill levels are examined by the DEST and CPT. Candidates must take a computer test if they are eligible for the Tier 4 exam, which is delivered online. The Tier 4 exam does not have to be taken by all applicants. Only those who qualify are required to take the test. 

  • The final stage, Tier 4, evaluates a candidate's ability with computers.
  • The combined time for the exam is 15 minutes.
  • It is Qualifying in nature
  • Candidates had to type 2000 key presses in 15 minutes for the Data Entry Speed Test (DEST).
  • The CPT is used to assess candidates' computer skills by looking at their knowledge of word processing, spreadsheets, and slide creation.

Mode of ExamScheme of ExamMarks

Data Entry Skill Test (DEST) / Computer Proficiency Test (CPT)

Same as published in the Notice of Examination


Want to know more about SSC CGL

Still have questions about SSC CGL Exam Pattern ? Ask us.

  • Typical response between 24-48 hours

  • Get personalized response

  • Free of Cost

  • Access to community

FAQs about SSC CGL Exam Pattern

What is the examination pattern of the SSC CGL exam?

One paper with four sections—General Intelligence and Reasoning, General Awareness, Quantitative Aptitude, and English Comprehension—makes up the Tier 1 SSC CGL test's exam structure. There are 100 questions on the paper, and there are 200 total marks. Quantitative Abilities, Statistics, and General Studies (Finance and Economics) each have 100 questions, while English Language and Comprehension have 200. Tier 2 consists of four examinations. Each of the four papers carries 200 marks. Tier 4 is a skill-based test, while Tier 3 is a descriptive test.

Has the SSC CGL pattern changed?

In 2016, the SSC CGL pattern changed. No personal interviews are done for any SSC CGL positions under the new pattern. Instead, depending on the position the candidates have applied for, the Tier 4 test comprises of either a Computer Proficiency Test or a Data Entry Skill Test.

Does the SSC CGL have a negative marking system?

Negative marking is allowed in the SSC CGL 2022 exam, yes. Each unsatisfactory response for Tier 1 and Tier 2 (Papers 1, 3, and 4) will be deducted 0.50 marks. There will be a 0.25 marks deduction for Paper 2 in Tier 2. Candidates should try to respond to the questions they are most familiar with.

What are the subjects to study for SSC CGL?

English, General Awareness and Current Affairs, General Intelligence and Reasoning, and Quantitative Aptitude are among the disciplines included in Tier 1 of the SSC CGL. The subjects in Tier 2 are General Studies (Finance and Economics), English Language Comprehension, Statistics, and Quantitative Ability. In Tier 3, candidates must attempt a descriptive paper in either Hindi or English to assess their proficiency in writing in that language.

Never miss an exam update !!