Become Job Ready with CollegeDekho Assured Program
Learn More

EWS Certificate Documents

Diksha Nautiyal
Diksha NautiyalUpdated On: August 14, 2022 01:44 pm IST

With application dates to various recruitment and entrance exams approaching, it is time for you to gather all the documents required for EWS Certificate, if eligible. Read the article below and avail the EWS Quota. 

EWS Certificate Documents

The application process for a lot of recruitment and entrance exams has either commenced or is approaching. The process does not only requires a candidate’s personal and educational information but also various documents to prove that the information is true to its nature. Where some documents just help in verifying the mentioned information, some are used to provide special quota or reservation to the applicant. EWS Certificate is one of those documents. 

Now you may be thinking, “What is this certificate”, “How does it work”, “What documents do I need for EWS Certificate” and “How do I apply for it”? Worry not because CollegeDekho has brought you the answers to all of your questions. Read on and find out all about it.  

Check Out: List of Medical Entrance Exams

What is EWS Certificate?

EWS stands for Economically Weaker Sections. EWS Certificate is issued to the candidates with a family income below the conditioned bracket. Through this certificate, the holder can avail the benefits of a new kind of reservation that was introduced in 2019. EWS is a sub-category under the General category and is separate from other categories like Backwards Classes, ST and SC. 

The President of India passed the EWS Bill on 12th January 2019 under which, 10% of the total seats are reserved for the EWS category holder in a recruitment or entrance exam. Gujarat was the first state to pass this bill on 14th January 2019. 

EWS Certificate may be a sub-category under the General category but it is considered as an income certificate and not a caste certificate. If you wish to apply for a recruitment or entrance exam and fall under this category, you can get an EWS Certificate issued by the competent authority and attach this document to your application. The issuance of this document requires you to apply for it and present the important documents required for EWS Certificate. 

If you are wondering what does an EWS Certificate look like, here’s a proforma for you:

EWS Certificate Proforma

Also Read:List of Paramedical Exams in India

List of EWS Certificate Documents

Here is the list of basic documents required to apply for EWS certificate:

  • Passport Size Photograph

  • EWS Certificate Application Form

  • Ration Card/ Epic Card/ Aadhaar Card

  • ID Proof (Voter ID, PAN Card, etc)

  • Affidavit or Self Declaration

  • Domicile Certificate

  • Residential Proof

  • Land or Property Documents

  • Copy of IT Returns/ Pay Slips or Any Other Document 

  • Valid Documents Proving Family Income and Asset

NOTE: The documents proving family income or asset must be certified by an officer, not below the rank of a Tehsildar in the Union Territories or States. 

Also Read: List of Upcoming Banking Exams

How to Apply for EWS Certificate?

The application for EWS Certificate can be done online as well as offline. Here are the steps involved:


  • The application process of the EWS Certificate is dependent on the respective state government. 

  • You will have to visit the official portal of the respective state government and apply there. 

  • The application instructions for the same will be provided on the portal itself. 

  • Make sure to carry the scanned copies of the EWS Certificate documents at the time of the application. You will be required to upload these scanned copies.

  • Fill in the details diligently and leave no space for any kind of error or discrepancy.

  • You can finally submit the form after paying an application fee. 

Check Out: List of Nursing Entrance Exams in India


  • For the offline process, you can get an application from the nearby certificate issuance authority. 

  • You can also download an application from the official website of the respective state government. 

  • After downloading the form, get a printout and fill it diligently. 

  • You will have to attach the documents required for EWS Certificate along with the application and post it to the provided address.

  • You can have a look at the offline copy of the application below and download it for future use. 

EWS Certificate Application Form

Competent Authorities to Issue EWS Certificate

Here is a list of the authorities that are competent to issue an EWS Certificate. It is important that the authority is concerned with the locality you are from. 

  • Collector

  • Deputy Collector

  • DM (District Magistrate)

  • Additional District Magistrate

  • City Magistrate - Taluka Magistrate

  • Deputy Commissioner

  • Additional Deputy Commissioner

  • Revenue Officers not below the rank of Tahsildar

  • Sub Divisional Officer (of the area of  your residence)

  • Executive Magistrate

  • Extra Assistant Commissioner

  • Development Officer

  • Chief Presidency Magistrate

  • Additional Chief Presidency Magistrate

  • I-Class Stipendiary Magistrate

  • President Magistrate

More Related Links

List of Engineering Exams in IndiaB.Sc Agriculture Admission and Entrance Exams
List of MBA Entrance ExamNational-level Law Exams in India

Hope you found this helpful. To know more, visit CollegeDekho.

Good Luck!


Be the First to Know

Get Access to Latest Updates

Related Questions

How can I apply for Bsc (nursing) course in this college? What is its process?

-kuldeep paliwalUpdated on August 12, 2022 06:59 PM
  • 2 Answers
Diksha Nautiyal, Student / Alumni

Dear Student, 

You can apply to AIIMS, Delhi through the official website of the college. To know about AIIMS Delhi admission process in detail, please click here. For any admission-related information and assistance, please fill our Common Application Form and avail expert assistance throughout the admission process. You can also try our toll-free student helpline number - 1800-572-9877 to get instant assistance.

Good Luck!


Do you have a question? Ask us.

  • Typical response between 24-48 hours

  • Get personalized response

  • Free of Cost

  • Access to community

Subscribe to CollegeDekho News

By proceeding ahead you expressly agree to the CollegeDekho terms of use and privacy policy
Apply Now

Join us and get exclusive education updates!